The cover image may be different.

Ghetto Writing: Traditional and Eastern Jewry in German-Jewish Literature from Heine to Hilsenrath

Hardcover - 05 February 1999
Fuchs, Anne (Editor)
Krobb, Florian (Editor)
Rp 1,692,000
No Hidden Cost

Or   3384 PEC Points
Currently Unavailable
If stock becomes available, email me at:
captcha
Promotion : Cashback   
OTHER SERIES

New Free Shipping.
* Terms and Conditions
Quantity:
Delivered in 10 - 20 business days
BUY NOW

Description

Book Description
Throughout the 19th and early 20th centuries ghetto fiction played an important part in the expression of a particularly German-Jewish quest for identity. The volume Ghetto Writing takes the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the publication of Leopold Kompert's collection of ghetto stories Aus dem Ghetto (1848) to fill a gap and give testimony to an important genre that has been unduly silenced in the literary histories of the post-war period. The volume presents some 15 articles by scholars from Scandinavia, Germany, Great Britain, and Ireland whose contributions offer new analyses of ghetto writing by well known authors such as Heinrich Heine and Joseph Roth, and completely new material on forgotten ghetto writers who deserve to be rediscovered, such as Alexander Granach. The articles cover various types of ghetto writing, ranging from ghetto fiction in the tradition of Leopold Kompert and Karl Emil Franzos, to diaries, travelogues, autobiography, and even contemporary German HipHop and Rap lyrics.
Annotation
This text contains fresh articles about a much neglected genre--fiction from and about the Jewish ghetto.

Product Details

ISBN-10: 1571130098

ISBN-13: 9781571130099

Publisher: Camden House (NY)       

Language: English

Age Range: NA - NA years

Grade Level: NA - NA

Hardcover: 239 Pages

Product Dimension (L x W x H): 23.83 x 16.08 x 2.31 CM

Shipping Weight: 0.52 Kg

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers:
Write a Customer Review

There are no reviews for this product.

CONVENIENCE

BEST PRICE

SAFE/SECURITY

SERVICE

Customers who bought this also bought
 

 

DELIVERY BY:
PAYMENT METHODS:
 
SECURED BY:
View Mobile / Standard © 2011-2020 Periplus Holdings Ltd.