The cover image may be different.

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Paperback - 02 April 2019
ISBN-13 : 9781524767600
Rp 128,000
No Hidden Cost
Or  256 PEC Points
New Free Shipping.
* Terms and Conditions
Delivered in 20 - 40 business days

Customers who bought this also bought

Description

A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan's life was changed forever when she was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but the zap gave her genius-level math skills, and she's been homeschooled ever since. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

Fresh story, great characters, a winner! --Barbara O'Connor, author of Wish

Customer Reviews

1 customer reviews Between 2−3 stars rating, 09 October 2020
Cute, but deep.
By: Farah Fakhirah

This was cute and kind of deep, tbh. Luna is an acquired savant--she acquired this when she get strucked by a lightning, and after that she became a mathematical genius. However, this girl must tackle a very serious thing: Middle School. Luna struggled to fit in, and even if she did get friends she questioned why they want to be her friends. Some of the book's plot felt familiar--the teacher that push student's ability to a T, the bullying, the struggle to fit into a certain mold. Lucy's struggle is because she doesn't want to stand out, but maybe, just maybe her standing out could be better for her. In the end this book is about fitting in and making friends in a very uncertain time in your life

Share your thoughts with other customers:
Write a Customer Review