The cover image may be different.

Between Shades of Gray

Paperback
Sepetys, Ruta (Author)
Rp 141,000

Or   282 PEC Points
  


Other Formats Price PEC Price
DRM EPUB
Hardcover
Prebound
New Free Shipping.
* Terms and Conditions
Quantity:
Delivered in 10 - 20 business days
BUY NOW

Description

Publication Date: 03 April 2012
Book Description
An international bestseller, a #1 New York Times bestseller, and now a major motion picture Ruta Sepetys's Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post

From New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival.

A New York Times notable book
An international bestseller
A Carnegie Medal nominee
A William C. Morris Award finalist
A Golden Kite Award winner

Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?

A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Praise for Between Shades of Gray

"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review

"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times

"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal

* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review

Annotation
Sepetys presents a powerful and haunting novel based on a little-known real-life event in history. OIn terrifying detail, Ruta Sepetys re-creates a World War II coming-of-age all too timely today. "Between Shades of Gray" is a document long overdue.O--Newbery Medalist Richard Peck.

Product Details

ISBN-10: 014242059X

ISBN-13: 9780142420591

Publisher: Penguin Books       

Language: English

Age Range: 12 - UP years

Grade Level: 07 - UP

Paperback: 352 Pages

Product Dimension (L x W x H): 20.83 x 13.72 x 2.54 CM

Shipping Weight: 0.34 Kg

Periplus Bestseller Rank:
#4,772 in Books
#998 in Books » Teens » Literature & Fiction

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers:
Write a Customer Review
3 customer reviews  Between 3−4 stars rating,  27 November 2018
Stunning!
By: Kartika Nurfadhilah

Though many reports about World War II but a few knowing about what kind of Baltics people going through during the annex. Under Stalin commando, Baltic people forced to leave their homes, they punished as criminal, and their thing claimed as Russian assets. Also, they are deported to Siberia.  This book is about Lina's struggle to retain faith... See More

in mankind. My favorite character is Elena Vilkas (Lina's mother)--she remains calm throughout the roundup of her family. She retains her dignity, kindness, and dying in elegant manner. She always belive there is no such thing like pure evil. Humanity is always in gray form. This book tells us about hope and love. Love is something that you have to keep no matter its cost.

We survived through love such as love for country, love for parent and vice versa, and love of God. Elena, Lina, Jonas, and other Lithunians people believe that love for humanity still exist and they can survive from hell.

3 customer reviews  Between 4−5 stars rating,  19 December 2017
Stunning!
By: Insani A. Firdaus

I've never been into historical fiction before, but this book is definitely exceptional. It's not normally something I'd read and I am glad I did pick up this book. Really unforgettable!

It's dark and horrible and brutal; about the horror part of a war, the forgotten one. This is not pretty at all, in the best way possible. This story is about a Lithuanian girl, Lina, and her family who were displaced in Siberian work camps during World War II. It showed us the other side of World War II that we might have yet to know. It was very well-written, using simple but nonetheless deep sentences, which of course a very positive thing for a non-English speaker. It... See More

makes me appreciate the whole story because it is easy to understand. Despite the heavy and dark story, I found myself captivated till the very end.

Like a light at the end of a dark dark tunnel. Absolutely beautiful.

3 customer reviews  Between 4−5 stars rating,  23 October 2017
Amazing Book
By: Nisa Adani

This book show the other side of World War 2.. before i read the book i never know about this side of war before. Now I’m Glad I know it..

Showing 1 to 3 of 3 (1 Pages)

CONVENIENCE

BEST PRICE

SAFE/SECURITY

SERVICE

Customers who bought this also bought
 

 

DELIVERY BY:
PAYMENT METHODS:
 
SECURED BY:
View Mobile / Standard © 2011-2019 Periplus Holdings Ltd.